Nova Scotia Maple Syrup Grades

New Definition and Grading Standards

On December 16, 2014 the Canadian government announced that they accepted the International Maple Syrup Institute’s (IMSI) and its member’s recommendations to change the maple grading system. This has been in the works since 2002. The new maple regulations will have a standardized definition for pure maple syrup. New grades were also announced and both Canada and the US will adopt both the new definitions and grading standards.

There Are Now 2 Grades of Maple Syrup:

  • Grade A – 4 classes with taste and color descriptions
  • Processing Grade – has small quality defects but it still meets all food safety and quality regulatory requirements for human consumption. Typically used as an ingredient for food processors.
New Grading SystemOld Grading System
Grade A Golden, Delicate Taste Canada No. 1 Extra Light
Grade A Amber, Rich TasteCanada No. 1 Light
Canada No. 1 Medium
Grade A Dark, Robust TasteCanada No. 1 Medium
Canada No. 2 Amber
Grade A Very Dark, Strong TasteCanada No.3 Dark

Understanding the Grading System of Nova Scotia Maple Syrup